Gen1 save data rule

Locked
User avatar
Dabomstew
Site Admin
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:26 am

Gen1 save data rule

Post by Dabomstew » Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:01 am

This is a rule that has been implicitly enforced until now, but I've made it explicit on the leaderboard rules since a few runs have been submitted for NoSC in particular with save data present at the beginning of the run:
Having a save file present on the cart/emulator when you start the run is not allowed. This rule is in place to prevent carrying over certain parts of save data from the old file, such as the glitched "fastest" text speed. You can use Up+B+Select on the title screen to clear your save data.
You can see an example of what the rule is referring to over here (for yellow at least). While this particular use of old save data is obviously very easy to catch, in general this isn't something we want to leave open for people to exploit in more subtle ways, so I've chosen to make this rule explicit.

Note: This doesn't (currently) apply for gen2 games onwards, using old save data for those games to speed up resets is still allowed. This only applies for all the Generation 1 games/categories as of writing.

Locked

Return to “Generation 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests