Tips, and recommendations for learning Crystal?

Smileyboy63
Preschooler

Tips, and recommendations for learning Crystal?

Post by Smileyboy63 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:03 am

Hi,
I am fairly new to pokemon speedruns, I recently learned Pokemon Red, and was hoping to start grinding Pokemon Crystal after I reach my goal in Red. If anyone has some tips for learning the route that you think would be helpful, that would be great. Thanks!

playe
Preschooler

Re: Tips, and recommendations for learning Crystal?

Post by playe » Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:32 am

One thing I recommend doing is, even though it "in-validates" your time, don't be afraid to S+Q. Trust me it'll get rid of a lot of headaches in your early runs so you can get more familiar with the game.

Also be prepared for a ton of resets once you get somewhat decent and stop using safety saves, runnable Totodiles can sometimes be a pain to get (I've gone like 2 hours without getting a single runnable Totodile after Rival 1) and even after that there's tons of stuff early game that can stop your run dead. Just don't get discouraged and see it all the way through.

Oh and before I forget, make a save-state before Mt.Moon to practice navigating it in the dark. Trust me it'll be worth it when you get up to that point in your runs.

Smileyboy63
Preschooler

Post by Smileyboy63 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:12 pm

Thank you very much! What sort of stats should I be resetting for? Are the stats at 6 important to be resetting for?

executiveproton
Preschooler

Post by executiveproton » Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:42 pm

Smileyboy63 wrote:Thank you very much! What sort of stats should I be resetting for? Are the stats at 6 important to be resetting for?
At level 5, the stats you want are:
12 Attack (DV 5-14)
~11 Defense (DV 0-5)
10 Sp. Atk
11 Sp. Def (DV 12-15)
10 Speed (DV 7-15)

Keep in mind that Sp. Atk and Sp. Def share the same DV in Gen 2, for backward compatibility with Gen 1.

Ideally, you'll want 12 Sp. Atk and Sp. Def at level 6.