Still at it - Some more questions

exit1337
Preschooler

Still at it - Some more questions

Post by exit1337 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:51 pm

Hello there,
this is my first post and with it I'd like to shortly introduce myself before I'm actually going on-topic. You may or may not know me as a Super Mario World hacker from Germany, I've been modding this game for roughly ten years by now, but besides SMW I'm also digging the Pokemon series (except Gen 6). After having watched gunner's run on AGDQ earlier this year, I got interest in trying to run Pokemon Red myself as well.

I've made some runs, all without success and haven't played beyond Misty until now. I'm taking the Nidoran route and trying to lean on this run (1:49 by Exarion)

So here are a couple of question I couldn't find an answer for in the wiki:

1. Misty's Starmie was faster than my Nidoking. Do I have to have certain DV's, could there be a speed tie between Starmie and Nido? I'm wondering because Exarion's Nido was faster (15 DV speed). My Nido DV's in speed were probably between 0 and 5

2. Which Squirtle stats are acceptable on Lv 5?

3. Do I have to catch Paras? What if I don't encounter a Paras in Mt. Moon and caught a Pidgey instead of a Spearow on Route 3?
Last edited by exit1337 on Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Decon082
Jr. Trainer

Re: New runner - Some questions

Post by Decon082 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 7:58 pm

1 - If you have 13+ DV speed, you'll outspeed Starmie assuming you follow the current exp route. 12 DV ties, and 11 DV can tie in certain situations. The majority of Nidos will be slower than Starmie.