Better run to start with?

SleepyBlastoise
Preschooler

Better run to start with?

Post by SleepyBlastoise » Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:17 am

Hi, I am new to speedrunning, and was wondering if learning the normal glitchless run first is better then learning the catch all 151 run featured at SGDQ this year. I really liked the 151 run but seems very intense for being a first game to run. Does learning the normal run help you to learn the 15 run, or is it that much different? also would it just be smart to learn the normal run in the first place as I am new to running in general?? Keepo

Gymfreak739
Schoolkid

Re: Better run to start with?

Post by Gymfreak739 » Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:45 am

If you want to learn the catch 'em all run, I would start with learning the any% no save corruption run, as that is very similar to the first 20 minutes of catch 'em all. Learning glitchless first could help with learning movement and battle optimization, however in my personal opinion, if you just want to learn 151, there's no need to learn glitchless.

You can find the PSR wiki page for Any% no Save Corruption here: http://wiki.pokemonspeedruns.com/index. ... Corruption

SleepyBlastoise
Preschooler

Post by SleepyBlastoise » Tue Aug 04, 2015 5:52 am

SCf3
Preschooler

Post by SCf3 » Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:41 pm

I'm new to speedrunning too and I've found the Any% No Save Corruption to be a great start. It's not too long and once you get the hang of it, it's really not that bad. I want to try 151 in the future too!
Kappa

Sinstar
Jr. Trainer

Post by Sinstar » Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:03 am